Inversions with Om Yoga Magazine

Before we get into this post I want to apologise for the pictures, trying to get screen grabs from a video and setting the camera up in a cramped space is a lot more difficult than I thought it would be! Hopefully you get the idea though, sorry. Oh and ignore my face…

Just the other day I declared one of my new mini aims it to get a forearm stand and whilst reading Om Yoga Magazine, lo and behold a whole section on inversions! It has a lot of great tips on how to perfect inversions, my personal favourite, don’t wear a motorcycle helmet. As well as tips Om Yoga magazine explains the benefits of inversions, such as improved posture and it also takes a look at some of the different equipment that can be used to further your inversions.

Image

One of the main reasons I do yoga is to help with my balance, core and flexibility to help me with my aerial activities. My inversions on the pole are pretty great, I have been working on them for a while, but my inversions on the floor leave a lot to be desired, I can just about manage a headstand against a wall but take that wall away and the headstand goes away! Handstands also terrify me so I’ve got a lot to work on.

It’s a work in progress…

Anyway, I thought I would share with you some core strengthening exercises that I do on the pole before attempting inversions to help strengthen and warm up my core before working the full move.

Image

First start from a standing position holding onto the pole, hands about head height, then draw your knees to your chest slowly and then lower slowly. Without your feet touching the floor, then bring your legs up again but this time keep them straight, once again lower your legs slowly and don’t touch the floor, finally bring your legs up in a straddle. Repeat this three times and make sure to do it on both sides, it will be harder on one side but you need to make sure you are even.

Image

Next, lie on the floor with your head in front of the pole and hold the pole a few inches above your head. Bring your legs straight up and then push your hips forward, bring your legs into a straddle and hold it for a few seconds, then lower your legs slowly and with control. Once again don’t let your feet touch the ground and repeat the series another 4 times, then do two more sets of 5 so in total you do 3 sets of 5.

These are some of my favourite prep moves for getting me warmed up for inversions, do you have any you like to do? I’ll let you know if I ever manage to get my forearm stand. Oh and remember at the start of my yoga series last month I said I wanted to get my splits? Well I’m not 100% there yet, but I’m pretty happy with the progress!

OM Yoga Magazine