Music Monday’s – Dirty Grunger Edition

I have seen this type of post on a lot of different blogs, so like the lemming I am, I thought it would be fun to give it a go.

Each Monday I will bring you a selection of songs that are on my running playlist right now. This week I will be starting with what I like to call the dirty granger edition.

Originally I couldn’t workout to anything other than screaming men with lots of guitar and drums in my ears. Luckily I have moved past that, but I still like a good bit of rock for running, and here are three of my favourites that bring me right back to the teenage angst I felt at 15:

Disturbed – Down with the Sickness

Disturbed is actually a band my boyfriend introduced me to at 16, and this is the song that always played on metal nights at the uni club we went to.
The opening to the Miss Pole Australia 2012 was performed to this song, and it was such a sexy, kick arse routine that whenever I hear this track when I’m running I get really pumped up and think of all the awesome pole routines I can create. This song just get’s me pumped every time I hear it, I love it, come on get down with the sickness! 

System of a Down – Chop Suey

This song is more from when I was a 14 year old emo, I remember thinking S.O.A.D wern’t dark enough, what a twat I was! Now I’m a bit older I love them. The reason I chose this track from my running playlist is because I love the changing tempos in this song, it definitely keeps me on my toes. It’s also a song I really enjoy singing along to, no idea why. 

Slipknot – People = Shit

Sorry for the explicitness of this track, but it just had to feature.
This is the perfect song for when you have had a really terrible day at work. It’s a very angry song, but very therapeutic. I must look like a lunatic when I run to this because I nod along, agreeing that yes, people equal shit and fist pumping the air as I feel all my trouble escape. 
Once the track is finished I often feel a lot better as I’ve worked out all my anger issues and I’m fresh and ready to tackle whatever tomorrow brings. Make sure to follow this song with some cheesy pop though, too much rage can leave you feeling more angry than when you started.

That’s this week’s picks! Is anyone else a big metal/rock fan? Let’s hope that tonight’s run isn’t one that needs lots of Slipknot, if you know what I mean…

