Music Monday’s – The Songs I Hate to Love

For this weeks Music Monday I’m going to share with you the songs that I am slightly embarrassed to admit having on my playlist.

Rihanna – Pour It Up

The video to this song really annoys me, it’s just Rihanna competing with Miley to be as slutty as possible. It also represents pole dancing in a bad light, so many people have worked hard for it to be considered a real art and she has just brought it back to strip clubs, at least she has used very talented dancers rather than the ones that prance round the pole shaking their bums.
Despite all this, I can’t help but love this song. It’s quite grimy and I find the beat really easy to run to.

Robin Thicke – Blurred Lines

Another song with a awful video that is very derogatory to women. There are also lots of people who believe the lyrics suggest date rape which I can see so you can see why I am a bit ashamed to like this song, but I find Robin Thicke strangely sexy and the brunette in the video is gorgeous. When this song comes on when I am running it makes me feel oddly sexy and I definitely develop bit of a wiggle in my step.

Macklemore – Thrift Shop

This song doesn’t really fit in with the other two, the video or the lyrics don’t offend me in anyway, but for some reason I still find myself a bit embarrassed to have this on my playlist!
Although this song has quite a slow beat I find running along to it really easy, and it’s one I always end up singing along to it, definitely a bit embarrassing in the middle of a run.

Have you got any songs on your playlist you are embarrassed to admit you like?

